6f772d34c1908cb2dcafcc8bba599193

Hi my friends!

It has been an amazing week in Italy. From now on I’m having hard time to decide if I’m bigger fan of Spain or Italy. I think I kind of lost my heart to Italian attitude, style, history, taste and nature. First of all: They are amazingly talented drivers. I wonder how they still can be alive driving as crazy as they do! I rented a car and drove from Rome to Amalfi Coast. On the way I stopped to visit Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii. One of my dreams came true – I finally visited Positano. That incredible town is built to a steep cliffs leading to the sea. I spent my time there just looking around and being amazed how people make everything work in that kind of villages, like water and waste systems. Streets are so narrow there is hardly space for one car at the time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my favorite parts of my holiday was few hours hike to Valle Della Ferriere, where Amalfi town is located. I started the hike from San Lazarro, little village I stayd somewhere high above Amalfi town. Views were amazing and route was nice to even get lost a bit. I walked around five and half hours instead of four that normal route takes. Old water mill ruins on the way were exciting. If everyone is not willing to walk 16 kilometers first, a shorter and very easy route from Amalfi to the mills takes only about 30 minutes and there’s cozy and cute organic restaurant on the way.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love how people can be so stylish all the time. They really care what they are wearing and how they act. That is how you recognize locals from tourists. That is also something we Finns should learn to do better. Italians think it’s polite for the people they meet, if their appearance is neat and they have put some effort to it.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Italy is taste of lemon, pizza, self-confidence, kamikaze drivers, scooters, beautiful people, winding roads, carelessness, architecture and zest for life. Rome is homeless people spending time without noticing tourists taking pictures of them, talented street performes drawing, playing instruments or painting, endless ruins and interesting mix of history and this day, it’s about flirting, laughing and eating ice cream.

When I was taking pictures of Fontana di Trevi with hundreds of other people, there was an old man who came to me and gave me 5c to my hand. He asked me to throw it to the fountain and make a wish. I asked why he doesn’t want to make a wish by himself. He told me that once he did it and wished that someday he will live in Rome. And now he does live there and it’s time for someone else’s dream come true. And after I made my wish he reminded me that I should remember life is here right now in this moment. Not in our phones or computers. I admire people who has fulfilled their dreams and now they just want to share happiness with others.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

